Select Phone Book
Left click a phone book to select that book. This will open the contact list view and will allow the user to add contacts to the selected book.
Delete & Edit
Right click the phone book to open a context menu. The edit and delete options will be available.
If the context options are greyed out this means the current user does not have permission (write access) to edit or delete the phone book.
The delete option will provide a confirmation dialog before deleting the book.
The edit option will open the permission view.
Contact List View
The contact list view displays all of the contacts in the currently selected phone book. Users can search the contact collection for a specific contact.
Users can search for a specific contact by typing into the Search Contacts text field. This will search on all of the contact fields for contacts in the currently selected directory. Contacts will be returned in order of relevance. For example, a user could search for a phone number, and the list will be filtered down to contacts that either have that phone number or a close match.
Displaying & Hiding Columns
Columns can be displayed or hidden by clicking the ▼ symbol located to the right of the table headers.
The order of the columns can be rearranged by clicking and dragging the headers.
The contact list can be sorted by a column in ascending or descending order by clicking the ▼ symbol on the right side of each column. The currently sorted column will be red.
Select a contact by left clicking on the row. This will open the detailed contact view.
Contact Detailed View
The contact detailed view displays a contact with all of its fields. The fields on this screen can be displayed or hidden. If the user has write permission, this screen can be used to edit or delete the contact.
View & Edit
A detailed view will either be in an edit or view state. This can be toggled by clicking the edit button at the bottom of the view. This option will only be available if the user has write permission for the currently selected directory. In the edit state fields can be modified, added, or removed. The changes will be persisted if the user clicks the save button before exiting the edit state or selecting a different contact.
Delete & Save
The delete and save buttons are at the bottom of the view. They will only be enabled if the contact is currently in the edit state. This requires the user to have write permission before modifying or deleting a contact.
In the top right hand corner of the view a display/hide field button is available. Clicking this button will allow the user to decide what fields they want displayed in the detailed contact view.
Click to Dial
Each phone number had a phone icon to the right of the number. Clicking the icon will originate a call from the default extension of the current user to the contact's number.
Adding New Fields
Any of the contact's fields can have multiple entries. To create multiple fields, you will need to be in the edit view by clicking the edit button. After entering information into the currently blank field a plus icon will appear. Click the plus icon to create a new blank field. This can be done as many times as needed.
To remove fields from the contact enter the edit view by clicking the edit button. There will be a red X to the right of fields that can be removed. Clicking the X will remove the field. If you want to hide the field without removing the information, you can do so by using the display/hide fields button.
Most of the contact fields will provide a label field to specify information. If there are preconfigured options, you will have a combo box that can be used to select a choice. You can enter new options into the combo box. Fields without preconfigured options will provide a textfield for specifying custom labels. Additionally, users can display the custom field, which allows for a customizable text field and label.
Contact Permission Screen
The contact permission screen can be entered by adding a new phone book or by right clicking a currently existing phone book and selecting edit. This screen allows users with write permission to change the phone books name, permissions, or public state.
Clicking the save button will create the book, or if already created, modify the book with any changes you have made. This option will be disabled if a valid name is not provided.
Clicking the delete button will prompt the user with a confirmation dialog, then remove the phone book. Note: If the book is being shared, it will be removed for all users.
The filter text box allows users to search for specific users they wish to modify permissions for.
Sharing Phone Books
Phone book can either be shared with individual users or published to every user in the system that has access to the Contact widget.
When a phonebook is made public all its sharing permissions will be removed!
The make public button publishes the phonebook to all other users. The other users can only view the published book, while the owner (the user that created the book) is the only user that is able to edit. Publishing a phonebook will remove all other sharing permissions.
The make private button will stop the book from being shared with all other users in the system. When returned to the private state the owner will be able to add view/edit permissions for other users they wish to share the book with.
If you want to share a book with all users in the system, including all future users, publishing the phonebook (using the make private button) is recommended. If you want to share a book with a few select users, the sharing permissions are recommended.
The view permission allows a user to see all contacts in the phone book. They will be able to go to the contact detailed view screen, but will be unable to enter the edit screen or modify the phone book.
The edit permission allows a user to modify the phone book and contacts in the phone book. They will be able to rename the book, change permissions, and delete the book. Additionally, the user will be able to add new contacts, delete contacts, and modify contacts from the phone book.
The owner of a phone book always has view and edit rights to the phone book.
Notifications will go out to users who have the contact widget currently added to their dashboard. Users will receive the following notifications:
- Gained access to phone book: Receive this notification when a user shares a phone book with the current user or a phone book has been made public.
- Regained access to phone book: Receive this notification when a user shares a phone book with the current user that they previously had access to.
- Lost access to phone book: Receive this notification when a user stops sharing the phone book with the current user, makes a public phone book private, or deletes the phone book.